Katie Taylor vs. Amanda Serrano results: Taylor retains titles in an instant classic

Figthing before a sellout crowd at Madison Square Garden, Katie Taylor and Amanda Serrano went to war with one another for 10 electric rounds Saturday night. The 19,187 fans in attendance witnessed history as the two women put on a show. In the end, Taylor beat Serrano via split decision (94-96, 97-93, 96-93) to retain her status as undisputed lightweight champion. 

What a fight it was. From the opening bell, fans knew it would be a fight to remember. They were loud the entire night. In fact, it got so loud at times that the fighters and the referee almost missed the bell signaling the end of some rounds.

MORE: Biggest boxing title fights in MSG history

Taylor and Serrano would not stay off of one another at the start as they attacked from all angles. They traded shots in the ring and scores on the cards. Taylor used her brilliant defense to avoid big blows by the powerful Serrano. Body shots were the name of the game.

Things took a turn in Round 5. Serrano dominated the round, giving Taylor a run for her money. The crowd was going wild as Taylor looked to be in trouble. The same could be said in Round 6 when Serrano continued her attack. 

But just like her fight at MSG against Delfine Persoon in 2019, Taylor persevered. 

She slowed the flow and landed swift combinations. Taylor ended up landing hooks and body shots and grabbed energy from the crowd. She landed jabs, even with Serrano landing a few of her own.

The fight kicked into high gear in the 10th and final round. Taylor and Serrano went blow for blow. It was an incredible display of toughness by both fighters as they swung away before the bell. 

According to CompuBox, Serrano landed 173 shots to 147 for Taylor. Serrano only landed single-digit shots twice, and she landed 44 in Round 5. Taylor landed single-digit shots three times. 

MORE: Where Taylor vs. Serrano ranks among top moments in women’s combat sports

Taylor has defended the lightweight titles 13 times since she won the WBA belt in 2017. Serrano’s 28-fight win streak ended with the loss. A rematch is expected, possibly in Taylor’s native Ireland. 

The Sporting News provided live updates and highlights from Taylor vs. Serrano. Here’s how it all went down: 

Katie Taylor vs. Amanda Serrano live results, updates

Katie Taylor def. Amanda Serrano via split decision (94-96, 97-93, 96-93) 

Round 10: Serrano pushes forward and attacks Taylor’s body and face. Taylor fights back and lands her own combinations. She then lands big shots as Serrano tries to land uppercuts from inside. Taylor hits a clean shot to Serrano’s face. Taylor then lands combinations that have the crowd in a frenzy. She lands a big blow. Serrano lands shots as she is bleeding. They exchange shots before the end of the fight. 

SN unofficial scorecard: 10-9, Taylor (96-94, Taylor) 

Round 9: Taylor swings away with hooks. Now she lands body shots and combinations. Serrano lands big blows but Taylor fights back. Taylor now lands body shots as she pushes way from Serrano. Big face shots by Taylor as Serrano misses a hook. Jabs to the face of Serrano land hard. Serrano pushes Taylor back. 

SN unofficial scorecard: 10-9, Taylor (86-85, Taylor) 

Round 8: Serrano is the aggressor to open the round. Taylor lands combinations. Taylor lands inside shots as the crowd tries to cheer her on. She lands big hooks to Serrano’s face. Taylor lands a body shot and reaches in for one. 

SN unofficial scorecard: 10-9, Taylor (76-76)

Round 7: Taylor is slowing down, perhaps as a strategy. She lands two big shots. Serrano lands a big jab. Serrano with a body shot but Taylor lands combinations. They both trade shots. Taylor with a jab. Serrano with combinations but Taylor follows suit. 

SN unofficial scorecard: 10-9, Serrano (67-66, Serrano)

Round 6: Serrano is starting to land more. Now she is hitting hard as Taylor tries to fight back. Serrano is pushing her toward the ropes. Now Taylor tries to fight back. She lands combinations that land and hurt Serrano. Back-and-forth shots as Serrano lands a big one. Taylor lands combinations. 

SN unofficial scorecard: 10-9, Serrano (57-57)

Round 5: Serrano with jabs that push Taylor back, and now body shots. They are both in the corner swinging. Serrano lands a big uppercut and now a body shot. Taylor with an uppercut and now takes the fight away from the corner. Taylor lands a big shot to the face of Serrano and another. She lands another. Both chipping away. Serrano lands a big punch. Serrano lands another. She is pouring away at Taylor. The round ends with Serrano gaining a big edge.

SN unofficial scorecard: 10-9, Serrano (48-47, Taylor)

Round 4: Taylor lands to Serrano’s face as she counters Serrano’s shots. Serrano pushes Taylor back and now they play it close to the vest. Taylor lands a body shot. Serrano with a few shots, and Taylor lands one after ducking a hook. Taylor lands combinations, finding her mark when Serrano is reaching. 

SN unofficial scorecard: 10-9, Taylor (39-37, Taylor)

Round 3: Taylor with a body shot to open the round. She and Serrano get into it by the ropes again. Serrano with a big shot but Taylor lands a few of her own. Taylor lands perfect head shots as she plans them out. A huge hook to Serrano’s face. 

SN unofficial scorecard: 10-9, Taylor (29-28, Taylor)

Round 2: Both are getting chippy in the corner to open the round, landing shots in the clinch. Taylor with a wide shot and another that lands. A counter shot by Taylor but Serrano lands a gut shot. Taylor jabs away while Serrano looks for a big shot. 

SN unofficial scorecard: 10-9, Serrano (19-19) 

Round 1: Serrano is hot out of the gate with jabs. She lands a jab as Taylor pushes away. Taylor lands combinations. Serrano with gut shots. Counter right by Taylor. Another counter shot. Combinations by Taylor. 

SN unofficial scorecard: 10-9, Taylor 

10:35 p.m. ET (2:35 a.m. GMT): Introductions are being made as both fighters are in the ring. 

10:10 p.m. ET (2:10 a.m. GMT): Main event time. The national anthems have been sung and the sold-out crowd in MSG is ready for Taylor vs. Serrano. Cindy Serrano is in her sister’s corner for this fight, as is Jake Paul. The crowd is pro-Taylor. 

Liam Smith dominant against Jessie Vargas, wins via 10th-round TKO (0:41)

9:55 p.m. ET (1:55 a.m. GMT): Round 9 sees Smith continuing to hold Vargas by the ropes. He lands body blows and uppercuts by the ropes. Now he is on the attack and lands vicious shots. Face and body combinations land hard. The doctor is looking at Vargas before Round 10. Smith lands hard shots and is making Vargas back away. The doctor called the fight off, but the referee didn’t see. Now he calls it off, as Smith dominated toward the end. 

9:45 p.m. ET (1:45 a.m. GMT): Both are going at it in Round 7. Smith lands combinations as the crowd is cheering him on. Vargas lands combinations but they aren’t that effective. Now Smith has Vargas by the ropes and lands a body and uppercut shot. Multiple uppercuts landed by Smith. Straight jabs to open Round 8 for Smith. Now he has Vargas by the ropes, and while Vargas is connecting, it is doing nothing of value. Vargas is now missing and Smith is taking advantage. 

9:35 pm. ET (1:35 a.m. GMT): Overhand shots by Smith in Round 5 and now he lands big uppercuts. Big jab by Vargas through the defense of Smith rattles him a little bit. Now they both trade blows to the body. Big overhand hook by Smith. Big hook by Smith to open Round 6 . He lands another shot that was unprotected. Now an uppercut, and another. Vargas is wobbling by the ropes, where Smith is unloading. Big body blow by Vargas and an accidental low blow. Smith ends the round by unloading shots onto Vargas. 

9:25 p.m. ET (1:25 a.m. GMT): Smith and Vargas trade shots in Round 3. As Vargas tries to land punishing blows, Smith blocks them. Now Smith lands two big overhands to Vargas’ face. Smith plays it close to the vest and lands shots in the clinch. Smith has Vargas up by the ropes. Round 4 has Smith getting pushed back and now he turns it around by landing a big shot to the face of Vargas. By the ropes, Vargas is wobbled. They trade shots and now Smith lands combinations. Uppercut and body shot combinations by Smith lands but Vargas lands a few shots that wobble Smith. 

9:15 p.m. ET (1:15 a.m. GMT): The crowd is going crazy for Smith. Both try the feeling out process to start things off. Vargas lands crisp shots while Vargas goes on the inside. An inside shot by Vargas as he lands through the defense of Smith. Smith lands one last shot to end the round. Round 2 saw Vargas jab away. Big body blow by Vargas. Smith trips down the floor and was concerned that was going to be called a knockdown. Uppercuts by Smith but a body counter by Smith. Now Smith has him by the ropes and lands volume blows.  

9:05 p.m. ET (1:05 a.m. GMT): The co-main event is next: a big grudge fight featuring Liam Smith vs. Jessie Vargas.

Franchon Crews-Dezurn def. Elin Cederroos via unanimous decision (99-91, 99-91, 97-93), becomes undisputed super middleweight champion

8:40 p.m. ET (12:40 a.m. GMT): In one last attempt to make something happen, Cederroos comes out swinging in Round 10. She uses her height to her advantage, towering over Crews-Dezurn. She lands a counter right that pushes Crews-Dezurn back. It was not enough as Crews-Dezurn got the unanimous decision. 

8:30 p.m. ET (12:30 a.m. GMT): Round 7 and Crews-Dezurn continues to land. Body and face combinations as Cederroos misses key shots. Crews-Dezurn is calculating as she lands effective blows. Both ladies continue to swing in Round 8. Cederroos lands harder shots as Crews-Dezurn pushes forward. Now Crews-Dezurn is pushed back as Cederroos swings away. It is the best round Cederroos has had. Cederroos has found life as she continues her attack in Round 9. Crews-Dezurn ends up getting some momentum back as she lands big shots. 

8:26 p.m. ET (12:26 a.m. GMT): Round 5 had Cederroos as the aggressor, but Crews-Dezurn landed a few hooks. She landed another hook that pushed Cederroos back. In the corner, Cederroos landed inside body shots. Both are now hitting big blows. Round 6 sees Crews-Dezurn get pushed back by Cederroos, if only for a brief moment. Big blow to the face by Crews-Dezurn and Cederroos is reeling.

8:20 p.m. ET (12:20 a.m. GMT): Jab to the gut pushes Cederroos back in Round 3. Cederroos has a bloody nose as Crews-Dezurn continues to land. Big hook by Crews-Dezurn as she looks sharp. Overhand hook by Crews-Dezurn to start Round 4. Big right by Cederroos and now they are going back and forth. Crews-Dezurn lands a big overhand shot as Cederroos is bleeding all over now. 

8:15 p.m. ET (12:20 a.m. GMT): Cederroos now lands straight jabs to the face of Crews-Dezurn. Big uppercut by Cederroos, but Crews-Dezurn is now on the attack. She lands a big hook as Claressa Shields cheers her on. Overhand shots by Crews-Dezurn connect and now she is landing volume blows. A few shots get through the defense of Cederroos. 

8:10 p.m. ET (12:10 a.m. GMT): Cederroos and Crews-Dezurn are hitting hard right away. Overhand shots by both have impressed this MSG crowd. Crews-Dezurn is swinging wild but landing. She lands a body shot and a big right to the face of Cederroos. Cederroos pushes forward but Crews-Dezurn just won’t stop connecting. 

8:05 p.m. ET (12:05 a.m. GMT): The fight to determine the undisputed super middleweight champion, as Franchon Crews-Dezern faces Elin Cederroos. 

Galal Yafai def. Miguel Cartagena via 2nd-round TKO (3:00) 

7:50 p.m. ET (11:50 p.m. GMT): Round 2 was the same as Round 1, with Yafai continuing to dictate the pace. He landed punishing blows the face, and glided around the ring. Pushing Cartagena into the ropes, Yafai lands open blows and starts playing with his opponent. Cartagena slipped out of exhaustion. It is target practice, as Cartagena survives Round 2, but the referee has seen enough and ends the fight before Round 3 could start. 

7:45 p.m. ET (11:45 p.m. GMT): Right away Yafai is on the attack, backing Cartagena into he corner. Yafai is landing inside shots through his defense, and jabs to boot. Cartagena has shown no answer as he gets hit with a right to the face. Open uppercut by Yafai and multiple jabs to the face. Hook and a straight punch to the face pushes him back. He lands hooks to the side and has Cartagena by the ropes to end the round. 

7:30 p.m. ET (11:30 p.m. GMT): Welcome to the main card of Katie Taylor vs. Amanda Serrano. Fans are coming in droves to watch this fight. The first fight on the card is Galal Yafai  vs. Miguel Cartagena.

Katie Taylor vs. Amanda Serrano undercard results

7 p.m. ET (11 p.m. GMT): Before the main card, Khalil Coe defeated William Langston via unanimous decision (60-54, 59-55, 58-56). Australia’s Skye Nicholson knocked down Shanecqua Paisley Davis before the end of the sixth round of their fight, landing crisp shots to the face of her opponent throughout the contest. She won via unanimous decision (60-53, 60-53, 60-53).

Reshat Mati had the crowd behind him the entire fight against Joe Eli Hernandez. “The Albanian Bear” was sharp from the start and did not give Hernandez a chance to breathe for eight rounds. Mati won via unanimous decision (80-72, 80-72, 80-72).

In the last bout of the undercard, Austin Williams knocked out Chordale Booker at 2:25 of the first round.

Katie Taylor vs. Amanda Serrano fight card

  • Katie Taylor def. Amanda Serrano via split decision (94-96, 97-93, 96-93) for the WBA, WBC, IBF, WBO, and The Ring lightweight titles.
  • Liam Smith def. Jessie Vargas via 10th-round TKO (0:41). 
  • Franchon Crews-Dezurn def. Elin Cederroos via unanimous decision (99-91, 99-91, 97-93) for the WBC, WBO, WBA, IBF super-middleweight titles.
  • Galal Yafai def. Miguel Cartagena via 2nd-round TKO (3:00) for the WBC International flyweight title.
  • Skye Nicolson def. Shanecqua Paisley Davis via unanimous decision (60-53, 60-53, 60-53).
  • Austin Williams def. Chordale Booker via 1st-round KO (2:25).
  • Reshat Mati def. Joe Eli Hernandez via unanimous decision (80-72, 80-72, 80-72).
  • Khalil Coe defeated William Langston via unanimous decision (60-54, 59-55, 58-56).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.