George Kambosos vs. Devin Haney results: Haney outclasses Kambosos to unanimous decision victory

Devin Haney has defeated George Kambosos via unanimous decision to become the first undisputed lightweight champion in the four-belt era.

The American controlled the bout, primarily thanks to his jab, in front of a raucous, pro-Kambosos crowd at Melbourne’s Marvel Stadium.

Kambosos did have some moments which got the fans on their feet but for the most part it was a Haney clinic.

The jab, the counters, the head movement. It all proved too much for Kambosos to overcome in the end as he simply couldn’t get any momentum going in offence.

After the decision was read out, Kambosos personally handed over his belts to the 23-year-old emerging superstar.

George Kambosos vs. Devin Haney results

George Kambosos vs. Devin Haney

Haney wins via unanimous decision (116-112 x2, 118-10)

Stay tuned for round-by-round updates and our unofficial scorecard.

Round 12: A close round to finish off as Kambosos pours it on. Haney manages to avoid most of the power shots but Kambosos edges it on our cards. 10-9 Kambosos (118-110 Haney)

Round 11: Kambosos just can’t get close enough often enough. Haney is controlling the fight with his jab. Only a stoppage will be enough for Kambosos in the 12th. 10-9 Haney (109-100)

Round 10: Kambosos appears to be stepping up the pressure but Haney manages to time his entries with counter-hooks and stiff jabs. This has been an extremely impressive performance so far. 10-9 Haney (99-91 Haney)

Round 9: Haney lands a slick counter-lead uppercut and a 1-2 shortly after. Kambosos is going nowhere and finds some joy with an overhand right but Haney eats it no problem. 10-9 Haney (89-82 Haney)

Round 8: The pro-Kambosos crowd is going wild as the round finishes but Haney takes it again. A big right hand momentarily wobbles Kambosos but he fights back strongly to get Marvel Stadium’s attention. Might be time to take some risks if Kambosos is to turn it around. 10-9 Haney (79-73 Haney)

Round 7: Haney’s jab continues to prove the biggest factor in the fight. Kambosos is as game as ever and throwing plenty of punches when they do get in close but Haney remains elusive. Kambosos landed a nice short right early on. 10-9 Haney (69-64 Haney)

Round 6: A close round but Haney has the slight advantage in speed and is beating Kambosos to the punch. The Aussie is by no means out of it but may need to mix up the gameplan. 10-9 Haney (59-55 Haney)

Round 5: More of the same in the fifth as he lands his best punch so far, an uppercut with his lead left hand. Kambosos was able to get into range on several occasions but couldn’t land anything significant. 10-9 Haney (49-46 Haney)

Round 4: Another nice round for the visitor. His jab continues to keep Kambosos at bay and when he does get into range his head movement gets him out of trouble. 10-9 Haney (39-37 Haney)

Round 3: Haney takes the third courtesy of his jab landing consistently. The American finds the target with a left hook on the break. 10-9 Haney (29-28 Haney)

Round 2: Very close round. Kambosos lands the most significant punch of the fight so far when he catches Haney coming in with a right hand. A left hook late seals it for Kambosos on our card. 10-9 Kambosos (19-19)

Round 1: After a patient start, Haney lands a few jobs but nothing flush. Kambosos attempts to time his jab with a few flurries of his own but nothing clean lands. 10-9 Haney

Crowd goes nuts for Kambosos walkout. This is massive.

Haney walks out to DMX’s “X Gon Give It To Ya” and a whole heap of boos. No doubt he’s in enemy territory.

1:15pm AEST/11:15pm ET: The anthems are done. Time for the walkouts. Haney up first.

It’s 12:50pm AEST/10:50pm ET and the main event is about 20 minutes away now.

Jason Moloney vs. Aston Palicte

Moloney wins via third-round TKO!

The Aussie times a peach of a right hand as Palicte throws an uppercut and drops him.

Palicte is up before the count but Moloney swarms and secures the stoppage shortly after.

A big win for the Victorian in front of his home fans.

Round 2: Plenty of action in that round as both fighters warm up. Moloney lands well to the body a couple of times but Palicte fires back with some nice uppercuts. Could go either way on the cards.

Round 1: Close round. Both guys looking to work their way in behind the jab. Moloney probably edges it thanks to a couple of overhand rights which landed well.

David Nyika vs. Karim Maatalla

Nyika wins via unanimous decision (49-46 x2, 48-47)

Round 5: Maatalla gets one on my card. The underdog poured on the pressure in the final round and landed some good shots of his own. Nyika appeared to wear them well and kept firing but but Maatalla had the edge in volume.

Round 4: Another solid round for Nyika but Maatalla is still giving him plenty to think about.

Round 3: Nyika takes it again. Switches to southpaw for much of the round and lands a few beautiful lead uppercuts. Maatalla still game but outclassed.

Round 2: Another big one for the Kiwi. This time he finds the target with his right hand, rocking Maatalla on a couple of occasions.

Round 1: Nyika takes the first pretty comfortably. A pair of left hooks, one upstairs and one to the body probably the most significant shots.

Hemi Ahio vs. Christian Tsoye

Round 1: Tsoye comes out swinging. After taking the fight on late notice, he appears to be looking to end this one early. Ahio weathers the storm well.

Scrap that! The fight is off. Ahio wins. It looks as if Tsoye has retired on his stool due to injury. An issue with his right arm.

Lucas Browne vs. Junior Fa

Big Daddy is back! The 43-year-old former world champion stops Junior Fa in the first round. Browne landed a massive overhand right to send Fa to the canvas and the fight could well have been stopped then and there. Another wide right hand sent Fa flying and that was enough for the referee. 1 minute and 58 seconds was all it took.

Kambosos vs. Haney undercard results

11:15am AEST/9:15pm ET: The broadcast portion of the evening begins with Lucas Browne and Junior Fa. The heavyweights have made their way to the ring. Don’t blink.

10:55am AEST/8:55pm ET: Lachlan Higgins and Terry Nickolas fight to an entertaining majority draw (57-57 x2, 58-56 Higgins)

10:21am AEST/8:21pm ET: Taylah Robertson defeats Sarah Higginson (50-45 x3)

The crowd is starting to build here at Marvel Stadium and we’ve still got plenty of fights to come.

9:54am AEST/7:54pm ET: Yoel Angeloni defeats Ken Aitken via unanimous decision (39-37 x2, 40-36)

9:28am AEST/7:28pm ET: Pom Thanawut Phetkum defeats Hussein Fayad

9:22am AEST/ 7:22pm ET: We’re here! Good morning and welcome. It’s an early start in Australia but the fans are already piling into Marvel Stadium for one of the biggest days in Australian boxing history. We’ll be with you all day for the undercard, the main card and post-fight analysis. Let’s go!

How to watch the George Kambosos documentary

When is George Kambosos Jr. vs. Devin Haney?

Kambosos vs. Haney takes place on Sunday, June 5 local time in Australia. It’s an afternoon fight in Australia, which means it will take place during primetime in the United States and Canada.

Country

USA/CA UK Australia
Date June 4 June 4

June 5

Time 7 p.m. ET 11 p.m. GMT 9 a.m. AEST
Main Event 12 a.m. ET 4 a.m. GMT 2 p.m. AEST

The main card should begin at 9 a.m. AEST and 7 p.m. ET. Kambosos and Haney should make their way to the ring around 2 p.m. AEST and 12 a.m. ET, depending on how long the undercard fights last. 

How to watch George Kambosos Jr. vs. Devin Haney

  • TV channel: ESPN+ | ESPN
  • Live stream (PPV): ESPN+, BT Sport Box Office, Main Event

The Kambosos vs. Haney main card will air on ESPN. It can be live-streamed through ESPN+. 

MORE: George Kambosos’ brutal warning for ‘nothing special’ Devin Haney

For those in the U.K., the fight will air via the BT Sport Box Office. 

Foxtel’s pay-per-view service Main Event will broadcast the bout in Australia. Boxing fans in Australia can also use the streaming service Kayo.

George Kambosos Jr. vs. Devin Haney price: How much does the card cost? 

You can pay $6.99 for a monthly subscription to ESPN+ or buy an annual subscription for $69.99.

In Australia, fans will be charged AU$59.95 for the event on Main Event. A Kayo subscription is not required in order to watch the fight on that platform.

The main card is also available for purchase via most major cable and satellite providers.

Product Overall Prices
ESPN+ Monthly Subscription $6.99/month
ESPN+ Annual Subscription $69.99/year
The Disney Bundle w/Hulu Ad-Supported $13.99/month
The Disney Bundle w/Hulu No-Ads $19.99/month

George Kambosos Jr. vs. Devin Haney fight card

Post-main event bouts

Andrew Moloney vs. Alexander Espinoza – eight rounds at super-flyweight

Amari Jones vs. Ankush Hooda – six rounds at super-welterweight

Isaias Sette vs. Luke Gersbeck – four rounds at super-welterweight

Main card

George Kambosos vs. Devin Haney – 12 rounds for WBC, WBA, WBO, IBF and The Ring lightweight world titles

Jason Moloney vs. Aston Palicte – 10 rounds at bantamweight

David Nyika vs. Karim Maatalla – five rounds at cruiserweight

Hemi Ahio vs. Christian Tsoye – six or eight rounds at heavyweight

Junior Fa vs. Lucas Browne – 10 rounds at heavyweight

Undercard

Terry Nickolas vs. Lachlan Higgins – six rounds at super-welterweight

Taylah Robertson vs. Sarah Higginson – five rounds at flyweight

Yoel Angeloni vs. Ken Aitken – four rounds at welterweight

Hussein Fayad vs. Pom Thanawut Phetkum – four rounds at super-featherweight

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *