With the 2022 US Open final on the line, Casper Ruud willingly gave a point away in a fine act of sportsmanship.
The Norwegian was broken in just the third game of the opening set and desperately needed to break back against Carlos Alcaraz at 4-3.
Ruud seemed to have won the opening point on Alcaraz’s serve in the eighth game of the first set but admitted to the chair umpire he failed to get to a ball before it bounced twice.
The double bounce was missed by the umpire during the point but Ruud was quick to own up to it as Alcaraz applauded the honesty of his opponent.
“Ladies and gentleman, Mr Ruud has just confirmed that a ball bounced twice, the point goes to Alcaraz,” the chair umpire said.
MORE: Alcaraz vs. Ruud score, highlights and result | How much does the US Open winner make in 2022?
Ruud’s gesture was cheered by fans at Arthur Ashe Stadium and the 23-year-old would go on to win the next two points meaning if he didn’t give up the opening point he could have had three break points at a crucial juncture of the first set.
Alcaraz ended up avoiding being broken and would go on to win the first set 6-4 but it was Ruud’s sportsmanship that really turned heads in the opening hour of the final.
A #USOpen title and World No. 1 on the line and @CasperRuud98 shows off some sportsmanship. pic.twitter.com/5NXRkx90uO
— US Open Tennis (@usopen) September 11, 2022
Great sportsmanship from Casper Ruud to concede a double bounce.
For the second time this tournament, it should not be up to players to make that call. There is no reason why umpires shouldn’t have access to quick video replays.
— Tumaini Carayol (@tumcarayol) September 11, 2022
we can all agree that casper ruud is the clear example of a good sportsmanship
— carlos (@tsitsichard) September 11, 2022
great sportsmanship by Ruud
that was incredibly close, and when you are running that hard for ball you ABSOLUTELY have no idea whether or not you got it
— Ricky Dimon (@Dimonator) September 11, 2022
amazing fair play from Casper Ruud what a player and amazing sportsmanship.
good to see a player like him in a final #USOpen pic.twitter.com/2oxZ1YnhpV
— • (@namasoprop) September 11, 2022
Ruud owning up (on his own) to the second bounce, which gives Alcaraz the point, is pure class. I love watching these two guys play for their skill level and sportsmanship. #USOpen2022
— C-A-M-I-L-L-E, just like the hurricane (@tchoupa_style) September 11, 2022
Ruud just won sportsmanship award for 2022 imho.
— F r a n ?? is proud of Rafa ❤️? (@_rafalewis) September 11, 2022
There’s more than just a Grand Slam title on the line in the final too with the winner set to become world number one when the rankings are next updated.